in house dollar bill thumbnail
 Total: 42,813 books
 New: 194 books

small login logo

Please enter your details to login and enjoy all the fun of the fair!

Not a member? Join us here. Everything is FREE and ALWAYS will be.

Forgotten your login details? No problem, you can get your password back here.

Greetings from Washington State

Pages: [1]

topic icon Author Topic: Greetings from Washington State  (Read 1581 times)

Old Ink

message icon
Greetings from Washington State
« on: March 06, 2016, 05:19:41 AM »

I've been reading comics here for some time and decided I ought to at least say hello and thanks and all that. First, a little bit about me. I'm 59 and trying to be retired. I used to be a musician and a painter but rarely do that anymore. I have a small genealogy business still and that's just enough for me. My love for comics goes back to my childhood. As a kid I was very good at finding pop bottles and cashing them in for comic money. It was Marvel comics that got me hooked. This was the early sixties and I enjoyed the slightly more sophisticated stuff they were doing then. I also began to appreciate the artists and their styles. Somewhere along the line those comics disappeared, I grew up, or older or something, but there came a time when I began replacing them. Actually, I got married, but my wife was a DC fan, so we built a collection together that was pretty large and made both of us happy. We learned to at least like the other's interests. Much later, we decided to sell everything off and financed our daughter's college education. That actually worked pretty good as she's got a great career now. Sometime back I began collecting scanned comics and it was great to be able to read the old favorites again. That lead to discovering golden age ones and my tastes have broadened so much because of that. This is what brought me here as I've been branching out and reading lesser known stuff. I really appreciate this site and decided to write this note to give