in house dollar bill thumbnail
 Total: 42,820 books
 New: 189 books

small login logo

Please enter your details to login and enjoy all the fun of the fair!

Not a member? Join us here. Everything is FREE and ALWAYS will be.

Forgotten your login details? No problem, you can get your password back here.

Hello!

Pages: [1]

topic icon Author Topic: Hello!  (Read 1351 times)

Ontology

• Past Member
  • avatar for old site member: Ontology
message icon
Hello!
« on: July 27, 2008, 03:27:16 PM »

Gee gosh,

I'm new to this whole vintage comics thing, but really enjoy the history and beauty of these far too often forgotten masterpieces of yore. Seeing veteran scanner names like Phabox, Yoc, Darkmark, and Cimmeria32 here just, well, sends shivers down my spine, like five minutes to go on an ebay bid on Best Comics #1 (1939)!
And I'll never forget the time I was bitten by a rabid wombat in Tasmania, and Aussie500 nursed me back to health with Briefer Frankenstein scans from Phabox. Moments like that stay with you forever!
So I'm going to try and scan some comics in the future, to try and catch up with and contribute to this scene in some small way.  ;)

And what is that microfishy stuff? It looks different than paper. Is it hard to do? Maybe I could try that, too!

And I hope, OH I REALLY hope, that I might even become a VIP here someday, and finally not get the "you have reached your download limit" message before I have even downloaded anything!   :D

With wobbly first steps,
Ontology
ip icon Logged

rez

• Past Member
message icon
Re: Hello!
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2008, 06:20:46 PM »

Good stuff Ontology, glad yer aboard.

Gee gosh,

I'm new to this whole vintage comics thing, but really enjoy the history and beauty of these far too often forgotten masterpieces of yore. Seeing veteran scanner names like Phabox, Yoc, Darkmark, and Cimmeria32 here just, well, sends shivers down my spine, like five minutes to go on an ebay bid on Best Comics #1 (1939)!