in house dollar bill thumbnail
 Total: 42,820 books
 New: 187 books

small login logo

Please enter your details to login and enjoy all the fun of the fair!

Not a member? Join us here. Everything is FREE and ALWAYS will be.

Forgotten your login details? No problem, you can get your password back here.

So I was in a few book stores over the weekend and...

Pages: [1] 2

topic icon Author Topic: So I was in a few book stores over the weekend and...  (Read 13136 times)

tbdeinc

message icon
So I was in a few book stores over the weekend and...
« on: June 29, 2009, 04:07:34 AM »

And I found a bunch of cool reference books ranging from Manga, to insects and animals to Pulp and lots of stuff, including comics inbetween...

And as I excited-ly picked them up and had a quick flick thru them I found myself asking the same question I have been asking myself for the last 3 years...

Do I really need this book? Do I really want to spend the (insert cost of book) money?

Can I google this book or this subject and get the reference off of the internet? What is not internet available?

And 90% of the books were placed back on the shelves.

Anyone have this situation in mind when shopping?

George

ip icon Logged

OtherEric

• VIP & JVJ Project Member
message icon
Re: So I was in a few book stores over the weekend and...
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2009, 05:35:54 AM »

It depends, you need to also allow for "is the information convenient even if it's online?"  It makes a difference but there are times when a book is just the better choice.  Different tools; the fact that the net is great doesn't make books obsolete.  It just means you can be more selective.

Besides, I love books for books sake.  Scans are WONDERFUL but getting a real comic is still something special.
ip icon Logged

Powder Solvang

• Past Member
  • avatar for old site member: Powder Solvang
message icon
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2009, 11:18:35 AM »