in house dollar bill thumbnail
 Total: 42,817 books
 New: 194 books

small login logo

Please enter your details to login and enjoy all the fun of the fair!

Not a member? Join us here. Everything is FREE and ALWAYS will be.

Forgotten your login details? No problem, you can get your password back here.

Microphones. Yes, Microphones.

Pages: [1]

topic icon Author Topic: Microphones. Yes, Microphones.  (Read 1735 times)

crashryan

• VIP & JVJ Project Member
message icon
Microphones. Yes, Microphones.
« on: April 11, 2021, 04:42:12 AM »

I'm glad the CB+ forum has this section because these questions have nothing to do with comics. But frankly, you guys are the only friends I can access right now whom I trust to offer authentic help.

I want to buy a microphone to use for voiceovers and the like. I want a good quality mike that will work with programs like Adobe Soundbooth / Audition and Audacity. I am not a professional musician and I have no pro audio equipment, but I want something better than a webcam mike or the one built into my laptop. My legacy microphone, a Sony ECM-959A, will not work with either my PC or my Mac--super low signal level, almost inaudible. Maybe I need a pre-amp. Maybe the mike is shot. I know that some of you have professional music experience. I hope that you can recommend a mid-priced microphone that will fit my modest needs. I prefer a corded mike with the 3.5mm plug. Despite "plug-and-play" claims, neither Windows nor Mac play well with unrecognized USB devices, which means a good 50% of what's out there.

I've searched online for something in the $100-150 US range. Instead all I find are super-cheap ($25 to $45) mikes promising professional results or truly professional units ranging from $400 to $700. Surely there's a middle ground. Most frustrating of all, how the *&%$# does one find reliable online reviews by real people who don't have a vested interest in selling you a product??!!