The Nelson Lee Library was published by The Amalgamated Press based at Fleetway House in Farringdon Street, London.
It ran for a total of 948 issues in four runs, between 12th June 1915 and 12th August 1933.
First Run or Old Series, ran from 12th June 1915 to 24th April 1926 for a total of 568 issues.
Second Run or New Series, ran from 1st May 1926 to 18th January 1930 for a total of 194 issues.
Third Run or Second New Series, ran from 25th January 1930 to 18th February 1933 for a total of 161 issues.
Fourth Run or Third New Series ran from 25th February 1933 to 12th August 1933 for a total of 25 issues.
After the fourth run failed to capture the public imagination, it was incorporated into The Gem Library.
Nelson Lee was a famous detective with a sidekick called Nipper. He was originally created by Maxwell Scott and first appeared in the story 'A Dead Man's Secret' in The Marvel on the 19th Sept, 1894. He also featured in a range of detective adventures in The Marvel, Union Jack, Pluck, and a number of other boys' papers. He then was featured in the Boy's Herald, the stories being written by authors other than Maxwell Scott, until 1915, when he was given his own library.
The action shifted to St Frank's School in 1917 when Nelson Lee and Nipper went undercover to avoid a death threat. Nelson Lee became House-Master and Nipper, Captain of the Fourth. The stories then became school based mysteries and adventures.