in house dollar bill thumbnail
 Total: 42,782 books
 New: 213 books

small login logo

Please enter your details to login and enjoy all the fun of the fair!

Not a member? Join us here. Everything is FREE and ALWAYS will be.

Forgotten your login details? No problem, you can get your password back here.

Hello, I’m Tom

Pages: [1]

topic icon Author Topic: Hello, I’m Tom  (Read 299 times)

otrfan

message icon
Hello, I’m Tom
« on: November 26, 2022, 10:40:41 PM »

I’m a history teacher who loves comics and grew up in the 1970s when DC was reproducing many old stories and introducing all us “youngsters” to Plastic Man, Blackhawk, the JSA and other great titles.  Happy to see him all brought back to life online.
ip icon Logged

The Australian Panther

• VIP
message icon
Re: Hello, I’m Tom
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2022, 11:23:12 PM »

Welcome Tom,

Yes, you will find here - particularly in the Quality section, the original stories and versions of the current DC characters. Also in the Charlton section and in the Fawcett section. Many of the Fawcett books aren't  there, removed under legal instruction due to the existence of the current movies based on the characters, but there are still a lot there.
Also, the books here are all PD, so Charlton Runs only go to about 1964.
So, jump in, and enjoy, - we would like to hear more from you, so read the Forum threads, and don't hesitate to post.
So, I'm a teacher and have taught some History myself. Primarily Christian History but my interest in History is quite broad.
I'm currently reading a book called 'Rome a history in 7 sackings' by Matthew Kneal. I also talk and share regularly with a mate who has a degree in history and is currently researching the early exploratory history of Far North Queensland and that part of the pacific.
So, what area of history did you teach and specialize in?
Again, Welcome!
ip icon Logged

paw broon

• Administrator
message icon
Re: Hello, I’m Tom