in house dollar bill thumbnail
In-House Image
 Total: 42,820 books
 New: 187 books

small login logo

Please enter your details to login and enjoy all the fun of the fair!

Not a member? Join us here. Everything is FREE and ALWAYS will be.

Forgotten your login details? No problem, you can get your password back here.

Reading Group #289 - Race for the Moon #2; Space Adventures #43; Am. Astronauts

Pages: [1] 2 3

topic icon Author Topic: Reading Group #289 - Race for the Moon #2; Space Adventures #43; Am. Astronauts  (Read 1744 times)

Quirky Quokka

• VIP

Hi everyone

I was born just a few months after Yuri Gargarin became the first man in space. When it came time for me to start school, my parents bought me a desk that had a map of the universe laminated on it. I studied at that desk right through school and university, and it probably fed my lifelong interest in space travel. So, in honour of my childhood desk, this week’s selections all have some connection with the quest for space.

Race for the Moon #2 - 1958

This is a collection of sci-fi stories, with most of the art and scripts by Jack Kirby. The reason I picked this one is because one of the stories ties in with Sputnik, which was launched the year before.

https://comicbookplus.com/?dlid=16921

Space Adventures #43 – 1961

This one starts with a sci-fi story, but then has the true story of the Mercury missions and Alan B. Shepard’s flight, which made him the first American in space.

https://comicbookplus.com/?dlid=66611

America’s Astronauts … Conquerors of Space (Product Info) 1961

This is a little 8-page advertising booklet that has some information on space capsules and then advertises a toy space capsule that kids can talk their parents into buying for them. Forget Barbie! This would have been my dream toy as a kid.

https://comicbookplus.com/?dlid=72635

Hopefully the mix of fact and fiction will appeal. If you’re not so interested in space, there is some great art to enjoy.

Have fun