in house dollar bill thumbnail
In-House Image
 Total: 42,818 books
 New: 192 books

small login logo

Please enter your details to login and enjoy all the fun of the fair!

Not a member? Join us here. Everything is FREE and ALWAYS will be.

Forgotten your login details? No problem, you can get your password back here.

Is there a real lack of Asian superheroes?

Pages: [1]

topic icon Author Topic: Is there a real lack of Asian superheroes?  (Read 1200 times)

gregjh

message icon
Is there a real lack of Asian superheroes?
« on: August 17, 2023, 11:48:39 AM »

As someone with Asian family, I would say "no", yet it's a complaint I here a lot, usually from people of Asian descent living in western countries.

I'm a teacher by profession and I used to teach Chinese kids. I bluff you not, by far and away their favourite heroes were Captain America, Spiderman and Superman. There are native heroes of Asian countries, see below, but these usually take second or third place in their own countries of origin. It's also worth mentioning that while superhero movies are huge in Asia, comics are rare. Many Asian cultures prefer manga, horror, or romance comics.

ip icon Logged

paw broon

• Administrator
message icon
Re: Is there a real lack of Asian superheroes?
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2023, 04:45:52 PM »

I can understand their favourite heroes being DC/Marvel.  Readers and moviegoers are swamped with American product and have been for a long time.
But there are Asian superheroes in tv and comics.  Tobor, 8-Man had a series on Japanese tv mid '60's.
There was a Japanese Spiderman tv show, loosely based on the Marvel character but different enough to stand alone.
Gekko Kamen from the '50's,
Ogon Bat was originally a pulp,
Mirrorman but I don't know anything about him,
There are/were a lot more but, can I find my notes?
ip icon Logged

profh0011

• Global Moderator
message icon
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2023, 04:45:54 PM »