in house dollar bill thumbnail
In-House Image
 Total: 42,820 books
 New: 189 books

small login logo

Please enter your details to login and enjoy all the fun of the fair!

Not a member? Join us here. Everything is FREE and ALWAYS will be.

Forgotten your login details? No problem, you can get your password back here.

Reading Group #300 - Walt Kelly

Pages: [1] 2 3

topic icon Author Topic: Reading Group #300 - Walt Kelly  (Read 2195 times)

Yoc

• VIP & JVJ Project Member
message icon
Reading Group #300 - Walt Kelly
« on: June 26, 2023, 02:49:59 PM »

Hi Gang,
Yoc here making his first post.  This is your 'stunt casting' entry.   8)
You guys might regret this... I'm known for being 'verbose' in my posts!

I'm an admin over at DCM, the 'Distinguished Competition'.  ;)
I've always been impressed with how active the CB+ forums are and the friendly atmosphere created with your many posts.

I first got to know Walt Kelly at his peak in his Pogo newspaper strip.  I was happy to later learn that Pogo first appeared in Animal Comics!  And how great is it to have them in the public domain for reading?

I thought it might be fun to first look at Kelly's much earlier work for Malcolm Wheeler-Nicholson title 'More Fun Comics #7' (Approx. On Sale Date: Dec. 13, 1935). 
See scan pg34 'Down by the Old Mill Stream'  https://comicbookplus.com/?dlid=60569

One of his first jobs for Dell in 1942 was in Camp Comics, a book aimed at men in the armed forces.  Kelly did the 'Sy Wheeler' feature in Camp#2, a 12 page feature he's credited with doing the writing and artwork.  See scan #19 for the story which starts at THIS LINK.
You can find Camp Comics #2 on DCM at the following link:
https://digitalcomicmuseum.com/index.php?dlid=35394

Pogo's debut was in Animal Comics #1 (Approx. On Sale Date: Sept. 8, 1942), where Pogo was just a supporting character.  Albert the Alligator was the first star. 
You can find Animal Comics #1 at this link: https://comicbookplus.com/?dlid=16740